Listen To Music | Advertise | About Synthtopia | RSS News Feeds | Submit Items For Review | Feedback


Articles about orchestration:

YouTube Preview Image

Composer Ondrej Pochyly discusses a new orchestral work, Requiem for the Lost, that he will be ‘playing’ live with Wii Remotes at an upcoming concert.

In this video, Pochyly explains how he created and orchestrated the Requiem.

The Exeter Classical Music Event will take place on 2nd July 2011 in the courtyard of Exeter Castle, Devon. Pochyly will be performing his Requiem for the Lost with a virtual orchestra, using Nintendo Wii remotes to control the tempo and dynamics.

More information about the event can be found at the Time+Space siteRead more…


Free Orchestral Sample LIbrary

The Sonatina Symphonic Orchestra is a free Creative Commons-licensed orchestral sample library in .sfz format.

While not as advanced or ambitious in scope as commercial offerings, Sonatina Symphonic Orchestra contains all the basic building blocks for creating real virtual orchestrations.


  • Sample library created from free/CC-licensed/public domain instrument samples.
  • Melodic instruments and chromatic percussion are sampled in minor 3rds. Staccato/pizzicato patches have 2x round-robin.
  • All samples have varying amounts of stage ambience, depending on their front-to-back placement, but in addition to that a good hall reverb is a must.
  • Format: sfz (stereo, 16 bit/44kHz samples).
  • Sonatina Symphonic Orchestra is available to download under the Creative Commons Sampling Plus 1.0 license.

The download is a .torrent file. More information at

Here’s a demo of the free orchestral sample library: